AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT & GIVEAWAY WITH JOHN FLANAGAN

Posted February 15, 2013 by sarah in Author Spotlight, Giveaway, Uncategorized / 8 Comments

 Author Bio: John is an Australian fantasy author. He lives in Sydney with his wife. His best known work is the Ranger’s Apprentice novel series, which is about a boy named Will who is taken as an apprentice Ranger to the grim and mysterious Halt. They meet up with many new people, friends and foes, along their path. Together they set out on mysterious, mind boggling adventures of a lifetime.

Prior to becoming a novelist, John Flanagan did advertising and television commercials. He co-created the television series Hey Dad! He started working on what would become Ranger’s Apprentice in the 1990s, as short stories for his son Michael, who at the time was a small child of twelve. Flanagan wanted to encourage his son to read, as well as show him that heroes, like the main character Will, don’t have to be big and strong. In the early 2000s, he decided to make the stories into the first novel The Ruins of Gorlan. There are currently eleven books published, and all of them have been released in the USA. Only three of these books are published in Spanish: The Ruins of Gorlan (Las ruinas de Gorlan), The Burning Bridge (El puente en llamas), and The Icebound Land (La tierra del hielo).
In 2008, he won the Australian Publishers Association’s Book of the Year for Older Children and the International Success Award for Erak’s Ransom.

Ranger’s Apprentice Facebook

John’s Website

The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger’s Apprentice Series #1)

Book Overview: They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger’s apprentice. What he doesn’t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

The Outcasts: Brotherband Chronicles, Book 1

Book Overview: They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others – they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger’s Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn’t mean they don’t have skills. And courage – which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger’s Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger’s Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

You can get John’s books from Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

GIVEAWAY TIME

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tags:


8 responses to “AUTHOR SPOTLIGHT & GIVEAWAY WITH JOHN FLANAGAN

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)