Review: Amity By Micol Ostow

Posted August 26, 2014 by girlswit in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

Release date August 26th, 2014
Synopsis:

For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story, a gruesome thriller suggested by the events of the Amityville Horror.
Connor’s family moves to Amity to escape shady business deals. Ten years later, Gwen’s family moves to Amity for a fresh start after she’s recovered from a psychotic break.
But something is not right about this secluded house. Connor’s nights are plagued with gore-filled dreams of demons and destruction. Dreams he kind of likes. Gwen has lurid visions of corpses that aren’t there and bleeding blisters that disappear in the blink of an eye. She knows Amity is evil and she must get her family out, but who would ever believe her?
Amity isn’t just a house. She is a living force, bent on manipulating her inhabitants to her twisted will. She will use Connor and Gwen to bring about a bloody end as she’s done before. As she’ll do again.
Alternating between parallel narratives, Amity is a tense and terrifying tale suggested by true-crime events that will satisfy even the most demanding horror fan.
Purchase Links: Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble
Lisa’s Review: I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley for a honest review. 
Being a horror fanatic I was excited about reading this book. The Amityville Horror movies and books always scared me, so I thought this book was going to so the same. However, it didn’t. There was definitely some freaky parts but overall, it just fell flat. 
The pace of the book was a bit slow in some areas and didn’t keep my attention. There was also a lot of repeated sentences which annoyed me. 
The characters fell a bit flat as well. There was an implied psychosis to both Conner and Gwen however, it was on a surface level and didn’t delve deeper into the meaning/cause of it. 
I gave this book 3 1/2 stars. 

Tags: , , ,


Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.